Connect with us

Local News

Arkansas Arts Council names the 2023 recipients of the Governor’s Arts Awards



Little Rock, Arkansas – The 2023 Governor’s Arts Awards winners were revealed on Monday by the Arkansas Arts Council, a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage.

According to a news release, the award program has honored people, groups, and companies for their exceptional contributions to the arts in Arkansas.

The winners are chosen by a group of independent arts professionals after being nominated by the public.

“The Governor’s Arts Awards recognize Arkansans who have made significant contributions to maintaining, growing, and enhancing the arts in our state,” said Stacy Hurst, secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. “These artists and art supporters are part of the cultural heritage of Arkansas and are fundamental components of our creative economy and quality of life.”

The list of recipients and the awards are:

• Christina Littlejohn of Little Rock, Arts Community Development Award
• Jorge Villegas and Maria Botti Villegas of El Dorado, Arts in Education Award for an Arts Educator
• The Foundation of Arts in Jonesboro, Arts in Education Award for an Arts Organization
• The Springs Magazine in Hot Springs, Corporate Sponsorship of the Arts Award
• The Music Roots Program/Founder Danny Thomas in Mountain View, Folklife Award
• Sammy Peters of Little Rock, Individual Artist Award
• Kelly and Marti Sudduth of Fayetteville, Patron Award
• Andrew Kilgore of Fayetteville, Lifetime Achievement Award

The recipients will be honored at a ceremony in March 2023.


Continue Reading

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *